In A Nutshell

We’ve got one life.
A simple phrase can be powerful when you really let that concept sink in.

One Life.

What do we do with it?

I’m more of a linguist, but this particular entry of mine is different. I’ve decided to provide my readers with a minor glimpse into what I’ve been doing with mine through my eyes via photography and video mediums.

(More photos are available in the “Photo Gallery” page located on the homepage of twopointonemore. Go take a peak. All photos were taken myself on either my cellphone or Sony Cybershot.)

I’ve mentioned in previous posts how Cambodian iced coffee comes in a bag. This has raised a few questions of how it’s done. Here’s a video of my friend doing what he does best. And yes, it is delicious.

20130504-124126.jpg

20130504-124448.jpg

20130504-124501.jpg

On my way from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. The following videos are of the countryside, the infamous “Tarantula Village”, and a little taste (no pun intended) of their Market.

20130504-131216.jpg
Proof that I did, in fact, consume a tarantula. After we left the village, I had some extras left over to share with the others on the bus. I contemplated…”I have two tarantulas in my purse. How many people will ever be able to say that?”

Some of the kiddos singing what I believe to be a Chinese chant to me at one of the villages we stopped at on our way home from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh.

This video is of a school performance at the Cambodian Cuisine Festival. The festival itself was a fundraiser for a major school in Phnom Penh and was outlined with booths featuring food from surrounding provinces.

20130504-132835.jpg

20130504-132857.jpg

20130504-132911.jpg

20130504-132930.jpg

And most recently, these are photos of some of my beautiful students. I teach twenty 3-5 year olds. This particular day, one of our lessons was learning about traffic lights. These photos were taken during our break time. One of the students whips out a toy car. I had a red marker, a green marker, and a yellow potato chip bag. I tore a corner of the bag off (improvise….always!) and was “vroom vrooming” around the markers and chip bag. When I’d pass the green marker the kids would shout “GO!!!!” and when I’d pass the red marker, they’d shout “STOP!!”. Great practice, and lots of fun.

20130504-134005.jpg

20130504-134020.jpg

A little party never killed nobody. Some of my closest friends breaking it down during our free time on Saturday.

“Teach me how to Dougie”

I could post thousands of pictures and hours of videos, but there is no way to ever portray this experience in its entirety.

This is two months in a nutshell.

Enjoy (:
I certainly am.

Love,
-A

One thought on “In A Nutshell

Leave a Reply

