Look Around You

What does it mean to truly be alive?
Is it a heartbeat? A thought? An emotion? A sight or sound?
Is it waking up every day, drinking your coffee, looking outside your window, getting dressed and going to work?
Is it lying in bed all day just because you want to?
Is it picking up the phone to call a friend?
Is it lying in the grass just staring at the stars?
Is it a PH.d in Biochemistry?
Is it finding an open field just to scream your lungs out?
Is it traveling the world over just to see what it all looks like?

I am nothing but a single person in a small world. I have no wisdom beyond what my experiences have shown me. I have no obligations to anyone besides who I choose, which is oftentimes no one besides myself.

Call me selfish; and sometimes that may be true.

I have family by blood and soul, friends from all corners of the world, and I’ve been blessed with more than I feel I ever deserved.

I’m a 22 year old girl living a life in a world most could only dream of, and it hasn’t been until recently that I have felt alive to my bones.

We all have something we are searching for. We all have that one goal or dream that we believe will lead us down to the path of eternal happiness; but I believe there is more to it than that.

Each and every one of us is filling a void. We search, search, and search some more for something to fill it.

Here is my truth:
Happiness is as momentary as sadness, anger, surprise, curiosity, serenity, and confusion. They all come and they all go with each passing day and experience.

We waste our lives searching for this happiness and miss out on all that surrounds us.

It’s like when you see that girl, all dressed up, surrounded by her closest friends, and she is still staring at her phone.
What more is she looking for?

To be truly alive is to observe. Accept where you are, who you are with, and how you are feeling. It may not feel right at the time but every single one of us is exactly where we are meant to be at that exact moment in time.
It’s what we choose to take with us from these experiences, good or bad, that define us. You wouldn’t be where you are now if it weren’t for where you had been before. Everything in life has a meaning; if not to you, then maybe to the person beside you.
Embrace it.

Find relief in changing someone else’s life for the better as opposed to the self satisfaction you crave.

We are all in this together.

20130423-083622.jpg

For now,
-A

5 thoughts on “Look Around You

  1. Alex, you are truly inspiring! What wisdom you have at such a young age. I am so glad you have embarked on this journey. I cannot wait to read more! You should write a journal and then a book about your experiences. I love you, Favorite Aunt Sandy

  2. Alexandra,
    What a journal you are putting together — worthy of being put in print. Will put you in company of such as Mark Twain’s journals he kept from his travels such as “Follow the Equator” which I just finished. He was ahead of his time in his remarks and tolerance of other peoples when there was even more prejudice than we have today. (I’m rereading his work and would so love to hear what he would have to say today.)
    I sent this to my friend who is a writer and loves good writing. Here is her responce: “Wow that is impressive for a 22 year old. I certainly did not know so much at that age. She will be fine in this world with this kind of start on herself. Thank you for sharing. How proud you must be–and pleased that she says ”
    ‘look around you, see what is in your life.’ ”

    Love and take care and send more of this. Grandma Connie

  3. Absolutely true and inspiring! thank you for making me remember what life and love are all about! Love you , Aunt Ginne

Leave a Reply

